top of page

Rakyat Run 2017, POJ - 6th Aug 2017. (Team Ultron)

When Ultron open invitation for Rakyat Run 2017, it was a spontanuous decision to just send in my #unity caption, and eventually i was selected, for the third time to represent the #TEAMULTRON, my first for 2017.

When the event day came finally, I was struggling with hesitation to re-adjust with the early weekend morning preparation, packing and driving to POJ. It was still very quiet and dark when I arrived at the parking area, more than 1 hour early than the scheduled flag-off time (7:15am). Honestly I do not know what to expect from this race, it's the first time Bank Rakyat organised such event and usually it is not easy to organised at POJ (last week the MHWHNR has to moved their venue to MAEP). But, the organiser seems to have done their homework, quite a number of tents for sponsor, merchandise (including neelofa scarf, fruits, PDRM, foodtrucks and etc). But as time passed by, it seems the number of participants is the issue though I am not sure if it was within the target or not. The mc tried to impress with announcement of 2k+ participants, then changed it to "almost 3k" total participants from several countries (including from Kenya, of course). A bit curious, I browse through further information on the prizes offered, and its quite an attractive ones for both the 10km and 5km (let alone the lucky draws). Anyway, nothing bad about the event, preparation and the orgniser I would note. This could be a first trial and the future may be a promising one.

It was rainy the night before, but the VIP was already around by 7am and then flagged off a bit later at 7:20am. Our Ultron team lead was a bit late though, just about time to distribute the race pack and the much waited new Team ULTRON tee before flag off, 6 of us, proudly and ready to hit the road. Then I realise that I was egistered under the 10k Open Category! Oh dear, I have to beat the Kenyan then to have any chance for a good position. But, that was not my target anyway - I just want to finish with a good timing before the FM KUMAR next week, and I wanted to chek it out how well my post recovery timing from ITB. With that in mind, I dont even bother of squeezing to the front line, choosing the 1st quarter que instead. The flag off started with the 10k Men's Open and Veteran (the Women's category flag off a bit later).

The run was a smooth one for me, consistently running at average pace 4:41/km. Clear route, good traffic, marshall, and milage marker, elevation 25-41m, I enjoy the run and keep me thinking if I should choose a 10km event in the future rather than struggling with FM or HM. Finished off with 47:04, and I am 100% satisfied with it, especially having through injury scares for quite some times now. I guess I have recovered well for now. Official results, was in 27th placing (39 overall). (Should be at 8th position on Vet Category though).

Coungrats to Isey, Alif James and Bhuv for finishing the run as well to my fellow Team Ultron. Thanks ULTRON for the slot.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page