top of page

Merdeka Mybuddies Run, 20 Aug 2017 (late report)

The first time taking part for this MyBuddies Run, the actual motivation is "trying my luck on the lucky draw". LOL. I don't have this habit of staying until the end of the event, but happened to know the lucky person last year, why not just try this time around. Unfortunately, only medals and the hot sun were the only rewards I have got for the day. Regret? Not at all, it's a fairly good event, and the first time running along the MAEPS route. It was elevation game all the way. Satisfied with the result though below my personal target, managed to clocked a 1:49:18 for a Half Marathon (probably under-distance with 20.6km from my F5).

REPC:

Held for 3 days prior to the event, at the same event venue. Felt so lazy to drive all the way from Ampang to Serdang for the race packthat Saturday morning, lucky my two boys agreed to hop along with condition: After REPC, Molly Fantasy!. Fair deal, we reached MAEPS before the actual opening hour (11am), but its already a long que with many runners came straight from the Sea Games Event. It was a smooth process, quick one and already impressed with the venue.

The Race:

FO expected at 6am, and (as usual) I am an early guy, all prepared and ready by 4am. Plenty of parking at event site and I had enough time to prepare for the run. Then my priority then was to find place for Subuh prayer, which was just few minutes before the FO. At azan time, quickly I joined a group of runners formed our saf under the rest area and performed our prayer together. We were all in full running gear. By the time we finished, it about 5:58am, so it's time to the line up. For some reason suddenly the lights were off for few minutes, and FO was eventually delayed a bit, 6:10am i think. When the MC shout out "Are you ready??"... we were like... come on, let's go, we have been waiting like forever.

Anyway, we moved on. I started slow ard pace 5:24. I have intention to improve my timing for HM, little that i knew the route is all up and down, almost non-stop. Somehow I still enjoy the route/run, not much traffic, with sufficient crews (marshalls, medic, sweepers) around and good WS throughout. But I dont see milage marker actually. I was really struggling to keep motivation at some part, trying hard to keep pace with the Pacers (except for the 1:45) guys until the end. Feeling a bit pain on my left knee, and I can't really watch closely my GCT Balance. I can blame it on the lack of training lately, LOL. When i was about to give up, reaching the final few km of the race, bumped with the Fyrus, on duty as sweeper for the event. He eventually riding and chasing me for some half km... jilaker...!!!

Eventually managed to clocked at 1:49, average pace of 5:20, a bit way below what I intended to do, but that's still good for a veteran social runner like me.

Race over, time to mingle with some AR runners, Razman and Aznizan. For the first time meeting another AR runner from Melaka - Syarizal. He was not participating but pay a visit to meet some of us and spend a bit of time at the venue enjoying the show and booths. We both waited to the end under the hot sun. I dont usually spent time till the end of the event, but this time a round I waited to the end, hoping for the bonanza lucky draw. But, as usual, it's not mine. LOL. Some other time i guess, may be...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page