top of page

SCKLM2018



This surely is almost a compulsory event for me. Unfortunately, at SCKLM2017 i decided to try something new - DNF at 11km, which was a cowardly wrong decision. DNF does not mean u can straight away enjoy a ride to the FL, but wait until almost all runners cleared the route. I should have stayed and fight to the end and earn the pride as finisher.


SCKLM2018 came with huge excitement and expectation. Personally, it should be a revenge for me! Lucky for us (past years participants), priority registration was opened much earlier than the public. I never had any second thoughts on this, I was for the countdown. For the public, registration slots was quickly sold out in most categories within 2 days with total number of registered participants was more than 38k. That's surely is the biggest running event by far in Malaysia. I can't imagine any logical reason any runner choosing at their own will not to participate in this event. Total Full Marathon participants itself was 10k plus.


Preparation - SCKLM2018 was about 3 weeks after the Miri Marathon (MM2018), which I already struggled with lack of milage and a bit of injury. So for March 2018, i only have almost 85km including 42.7km (MM2018) and 21.4km (BJHM), which means only about 20km running between the two marathons. A bit tight at work and mood was never right to hit the road after work. My main focus is to recover as much instead.


It was easy to anticipate the potential result - SCKLM2018 will not be easy for me. The question is not about if but when the struggle will start. When that happen what should I do?. I just keep telling myself "Never ever repeat another DNF for SCKLM. If I have to crawl to the FL, be it!. Eventually, I saw one of the SCKLM2018 message along the route - Die Die Must Finish! Spot on!. SCKLM2018 become so personal, the only deserved outcome is crossing the FL within the COT, even if it will be a worst performance.


REPC - Opened for 3 days (5-7 April 2018), at the same venue as last year at the KL Convention Center, well organised with lots of counters, lots of merchandise and sponsor booths and of course the SC Credit Card Team greetings at the exhibition entrance (No objection with this, as SC credit card holders will enjoy additional discounts for event registration, so why not). One of the most favorite spot was just after the exit, the long SCKLM2018 board displaying name of all FM runners.


My brother Dulmi arrived past Friday mid-night, unfortunately he was not well (and eventually decided DNS for the FM). We went to the REPC on Saturday morning and it was a very quick and smooth process.



Race Day - So far I was able not to worry so much with the lack of preparation, but for some reason I was so nervous the night before the race. My wife would only offer cynical response each time I mentioned how nervous i felt. Managed to get some rest in the evening through dinner time, but to make things worst, the ManU-ManC derby was scheduled at 12:30am. Lucky the game end just about the time for me to catch the LRT (ahhh what a come back Glory-Glory-ManUtd!!!!).



Left to the Pandan Indah LRT without Dulmi (so sorry that he made the long trip from Sabah but his situation did not improve till the race day) and Ris (10km cruise FO at 7:15am). It was still a bit more than an hour when I reached Dataran Merdeka, and quickly met Isey and Zul getting ready for the race, then later with Wan AR, Zaini Jai and Habib. 30 minutes before FO, Wan, Isey and I joined the already packed PEN2. Zaini had to join PEN4, but I am not sure where are the others (13 of us from AR).



For some reason i find the warm-up session was a bit boring, and the crowd also did not responded very well to the 2 MCs. Probably we are all just want to move on for the countdown and run.

FO was on the dot, and I think choosing PEN2 is a correct decision as it moves smoother than what I experienced last year (PEN4). For the first few kms, running through Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, I keep reminding myself to be discipline enough to maintain slow pace of around 6:30 or 7. (I dont have the habit of studying the route before the race) Passing through Kg Baru area then back to SOGO and Medan Tuanku, Dang Wangi, Jalan P Ramlee, Pavilion and Bukit Bintang, Tun Razak then Jalan Ampang - and its totally different from the route last year. Some of these roads are very familiar to me as it used to be my main training area. So I was not that surprise having milage issues, which was about 2km over distance from my fenix. I do not think i was over distance but more of issues with gps or something relating to signals, especially around the Jalan Raja Chulan/P Ramlee area. I used to record a crazy pace recorded around that area, misguided as improved training results even knowing not much change realting to my run. We spend most of the first 10+ km running around the golden triangle area, made me wondering when are we going to head into AKLEH. I was hoping that we will be passing through the spot where i decided to DNF last time around, and say hey I am here for a revenge!. But the route was changed and after a while, we are already in DUKE! hmmmm


Anyway, all in all plenty of waterstation along the route, (if i am not mistaken WS every 4km for the first 15km or so and then every 2km till the end), visible road marshals, police traffic, medics and crews. But i wonder if all of the crews are clear of the roles as some just sitting or busy with their phones. All in all it was still well managed. Buskers along the route add to some entertainment and I love those bunting with motivational words. Excellent!


Results - Respect the Distance!

In my mind, it was when and not if I hit the wall, and how will I handle it? I had 3 perskindol, 2 salonplas patches, 6 salt sticks and 5 power gel with me. That's my only hope to cushion such anxiety. I already planned to use and consume each and every single one of it to make sure I will reach the FL. Even from start, never that I feel good with my strides. I know that I was not in good form, and it just dont feel comfortable enough if wanted to push harder.


I was cautious with my pace most of the time especially during the first 20km, though a bit surprise to have maintained 5:40/km the first 7-8km. I was planning for 6:30/km. The crazy figures came around the 10th and 11th km with 3:36/3:40/km! That was around the Pavillion - Lot 10 strech!.


Then the expected started from km23, pace drop to around 7:40/km, and I already feeling the pain on my right knee, suspecting repeated ITB issues. I keep telling myself that I must made it to the 30km in 3-3:30hrs, and spared the balance 3:30hrs for the remaining 12km. That's workable as I had done that at BIM2017. The salt sticks help me fro cramps, the perskindol ease the pain a bit, had couple of sprays for my calfs, and singing the mantra "Pain is temporary, and pride is forever!!". Made it to the 30km in about 3:23hrs, and I am happy for it, gained a bit more confidence that I will make it to the FL!. From thereon it was pace 9-10, running and walking and trying not to stop. Sometime I was bit confused with the milage from my watch and the milage markers, especially the last 4km.


Then I have got a call Ris....."syg, nak cramp!" I was worried because I am not sure if she can handle it. And I am struggling myself 4km away. So the only advice I can offer was just breath, relax and walk slowly. Do Not Run!. A big relief when Ris told me that she was just about 500meters to the FL. I feel good about it, and quite sure she will make it. A quick check on whatsap, I saw Fyrus msg "Visa HM (refering to Ris) lajunye".... hmmm no wonder she almost got cramp. About 10 minutes later, again Ris called "kat mane? lamanya...", because most of time I would have finished my run and ready to record her crossing the FL, but not this time. I was about 2 km away then, and finally reached the FL in about 15 minutes later. Ris recorded her PB for 10km with 1:09, almost 10 minutes better than her previous one. (Later I found out Napi and Isey both managed to record sub4, very happy for them!)



At the FL, my watch recorded 44.7km with 5:27, but I totally ignored the numbers and refused to be disturbed by it. I have done better than this (pb FM@4:15). But, for the first time I felt a bit emotional when I got the medal, kiss it and say to my self " RESPECT THE DISTANCE, I EARN IT!"


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page